One of my favourite things to both do and to write about on Wistful Wildflower is travelling. I have been travelling the world since I was 2 months old and I still have a whole list of places I want to see – travel bucket list coming soon – so I thought I would do a little travel tag to share some travelling tips, memories and upcoming travel plans with you. So read on and learn a bit more about my adventures abroad…

 

What is your favourite place that you have ever visited?

London. I visited London for a week in 2012 and I absolutely fell in love with the city. Since then I have dreamt of the day I can call that city home.

 

How many countries have you visited?

11 so far but hopefully by the end of this year I can add a few more. Australia, Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, Sweden, Norway, Italy, England, Singapore, Hong Kong, Dubai

 

Which city or country haven’t you been to that you would like to visit?

Paris, France

 

Why do you travel?

I travel to experience cultures outside of my own. To expose myself to new styles of architecture, food, people, languages and to learn the history. I think there is no better way to grow as a person than to travel.

 

Favourite city or country?

Austria because it is my second home. It is where half my family live and I truly believe it is one of the most beautiful countries in the world.

 

What accent in the world is your favourite to hear?

I wish I had a British accent!

 

Most memorable experience abroad?

There are honestly too many to count but one that springs to mind is New Year’s Eve 2009 when my family and I were partying at my uncle’s cabin in the Austrian alps and lighting fireworks (that’s legal in Austria, don’t stress) and my dad lit one for all of us kids to see shoot off into the sky; only it didn’t take off at all and started to detonate right there in front of us so we all ran out of the way and hoped for the best. Luckily the thick layer of snow surrounding it managed to diffuse it before it could explode and potentially light the log cabin on fire. This was also the same day that I had managed to let go of my brand new toboggan that I got for Christmas and had it slide down the side of the mountain.

*Note to self – don’t let go of a toboggan when standing on an slope!*

 

Advice for those who want to travel but think they can’t?

Just do it! Book the ticket and go because travel is 100% worth the money and the experience you will have is worth the fear. I think in these uncertain times where we hear of a lot of major cities being the targets of horrible attacks it is very easy to just decide to stay home and live your life in your little bubble of safety but remember those attacks are random and you are no more likely to be injured travelling by train, plane or boat than you are by car. After all, life begins at the end of your comfort zone.

 

Preferred method of travel: planes, trains or automobiles?

I’ve always loved travelling by plane but I’ve recently been catching a lot of trains and I love having the ability to watch the passing scenery out of the window. I just wish they were a little faster at getting from point A to B.

 

What’s on your travel playlist?

I’m a bit of a weirdo who actually has different playlists depending on which mode of transport I’m travelling on.

My car playlist is full of absolute bangers that I can sing along with (assuming I’m either road tripping alone or with friends/family who are happy to participate in car-eoke) whereas my plane playlist has to be full of songs that I won’t be too tempted to start singing as plane travel doesn’t really allow for performances. I do however always turn to my trusty one direction collection while on the plane because I find their music the right mix of up-beat but also calming. I always listen to “Four” by One Direction because there’s a song on it called “Clouds” that I find really exhilarating to listen to while literally “looking down on the clouds”. I bet you thought I couldn’t get any more lame after confessing to my individual travel playlists but I did it, I went there.

My train playlist isn’t as refined as the others yet as I haven’t really worked out the train vibe yet but by the end of this year I should have it down.

 

Hostel or hotel?

The bargain hunter in me wants to say hostel but I can’t pass up a chance to stay in a lovely hotel when travelling.

 

Are you a repeat visitor or do you explore new places?

I am definitely a repeat visitor. Almost every city I’ve been to I have visited more than once or intend to return to again. I’m just a really nostalgic person and so I like to return to places I’ve visited before and relive the original holiday.

 

Do you read up on your destination for culture, history or safety or do you wing it?

Definitely! I like to plan itineraries a little so that I can make sure to fit in everything I want to see while I’m visiting. It is also important to read up about rules or risks in the places you’re visiting so you can be respectful to the culture or religion of the inhabitants of that place. It definitely eases my worries when I read up about a place before going so I know what to expect.

 

Where would you recommend a friend to visit? City and why?

Melbourne. I visited Melbourne with my mum in 2015 as a graduation gift from my parents and fell in love with the city. It’s so arty and full of history but still has something for everyone. I will definitely be going back for a visit asap because one week was not long enough to see everything. I wouldn’t even be surprised if I end up living there one day.

 

You’re leaving tomorrow, money is no option, where are you going?

Honestly, as boring as it may sound, I would choose to go back home to Australia and visit my family. I would play tourist in my home town and visit all the beaches and parks that I’ve been missing while overseas.

 

Favourite landmark you have visited?

Probably the Glockenspiel in Munich which isn’t a super famous landmark but I found it fascinating that it’s a giant cuckoo clock in the middle of the city.

 

Are you currently saving up for a trip?

Yes, I’m currently saving for a trip to the UK at the end of the summer but I haven’t booked anything because the thought of travelling completely solo in such a big city is making me nervous.

 

City holiday or beach holiday?

City holiday for sure! I grew up in a small town near the beach so going on holiday to the big city was always exciting. Still to this day I love to visit big cities while on holidays to do some shopping and sightseeing.

 

My top three holiday essentials are…

The 3 C’s: Camera, chewing gum and comfortable walking shoes.

 

Are you an over packer or under packer?

I am a serial over packer. With my frequent travelling this year however I have started to become better at packing only essentials and packing quickly.

 

What is your favourite thing about going on holidays?

The break from reality.

 

Would you rather go on holiday with family or friends?

I would rather go on holiday with family because its just so nostalgic for me to travel with them just like we always did when I was little. As fun as travelling with friends is it also involves a lot of  organisation and that responsibility usually falls upon me so I’d rather travel with my mama who is a whizz at trip planning.

 

To travel is to…

open your eyes and mind up to another part of the world outside of your comfort zone that will help you become a more well-rounded person.

 

So those were my answers to these 23 travel questions. I tag you to answer them next!

N. xx

Leave a Reply

