Last Sunday I unfortunately had to spend my first mother’s day in 18 years not seeing my mother and despite the fact that I’d organised a skype date at her request for a mother’s day present I still felt as though I needed to do something to celebrate the day. I have a tradition of baking a cake every year for mother’s day and since my host father works away and the children I care for are too young to organise mother’s day gifts or celebrations themselves I thought I would bake a cake with the kids for their mum and carry on my tradition. My host mum also had her birthday the day after mother’s day so I knew I would need to get a gift of some sort but had no idea what my host mum might need and knew that she would probably just offer to pay me back for any gift I bought on behalf of her kids so I thought baking a cake would be a great guilt-free gift for all, well maybe not entirely guilt-free!

Please excuse the decorating on this cake it is definitely more delicious than it looks but it was the best I could do with my 2 little helpers eagerly wanting to simultaneously decorate the cake and devour the sprinkles. This cake recipe is super-duper easy because you just put everything into one bowl and mix it up. If you measure out all the ingredients first like I did it makes baking with toddlers somewhat less stressful, just let them add everything into a large mixing bowl and let them stir it all up until the mixture goes brown and chocolatey. Anywho here’s the ingredients you will need for this delicious cake…

My “Piece-of-Cake” Chocolate Cake

200g Plain Flour

2 level tsp. Baking Powder

175g Sugar

1 tsp. Vanilla Sugar

1/2 tsp. Rum Essence

1 pinch Salt

200g Room Temperature Butter or Margarine

4 Eggs

50g Ground Hazelnuts

100g Grated Milk Chocolate

IMG_8607.JPG

THE METHOD

Preheat oven to 180 degrees (160 degrees fan-forced)

Mix all ingredients, except for the ground hazelnuts and grated milk chocolate, in a large mixing bowl on a medium speed.

Once combined and smooth, add the hazelnuts and chocolate and fold in using a wooden spoon.

Pour the mixture into a greased and lined, 20cm wide spring-form pan and bake for 55 minutes.

The cake is ready once a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. Remove the cake from oven and allow to cool in the spring-form pan to prevent sticking and cracking.

Once cooled, remove from spring-form pan and allow to fully cool. I wrapped the cake in cling wrap and left it in the fridge overnight as I ran out of time to decorate it that afternoon.

Prepare the cream frosting by whipping:

250g of thickened cream;

a teaspoon of vanilla essence;

and a teaspoon of icing sugar

on a medium speed until it doubles in size and thickens enough to form stiff peaks.

Spoon the whipped cream out onto the cake and using a butter knife (or palette knife if you want to be fancy) smooth it out to cover the entire top and sides of the cake.

Decorate to your desired design using chocolate sprinkles and strawberries.

Ideally I would have decorated the sides in the chocolate sprinkles and kept the top minimal with just a ring of strawberries but I must admit the chocolate sprinkle overload, courtesy of the kids, was actual quite delicious.

N. xx

Leave a Reply

