Last week I went and watched the new Beauty and the Beast live action movie starring Emma Watson and I loved it! Beauty and the Beast is probably my second favourite Disney movie ever and a super sentimental piece of my childhood so to see it reimagined on the big screen was magical. I thought about writing a review on the movie but since I’m probably the last person to go and see this movie I thought there may not be much point but let me know if you would be interested. Instead I thought I would do a little makeup tutorial which, although it is based upon Emma Watson’s Belle makeup, has been my go-to spring makeup look as it’s simple, elegant and has a pop of colour.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

For my base I just used the same products that I have been reaching for all throughout March. I start with my foundation which is the Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer and blend it in using a stippling brush from the Nude by Nature 11 Piece Brush Set. Due to the flawless coverage yet Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetweightless look of this foundation, I haven’t had any need to wear concealer. This product alone does what it says and is a foundation and concealer in one and conceals even redness and irritated spots. To set my foundation and mattify it a little I apply Revlon Stay Matte Powder in Translucent all over my face using the Real Techniques buffing brush. I focus specifically on my T-zone which can get a bit oily throughout the day so this ensures my makeup stays in place. Next I sweep a bit of a Revlon blush I was given by my grandma called the New Complexion Blush. I love as it’s the perfect shade of rosy pink for me but it could quite likely be unavailable now as I’m really not sure how old it is.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Now it’s time for contouring. Lately I have been turning to my trusty Australis Contour and Highlight Palette in powder form but for this look I wanted a more defined contour to attempt to get cheek bones and a similar looking jawline to Emma Watson. I don’t think I managed to achieve but I still like how this looked and to get a more defined yet natural contour I used the Australis Cream Contour and Highlight Palette. This one takes more work to blend in than the powder but it’s worth it for the natural, glowy contour and highlight it gives. To blend I just use my Real Techniques contour brush. For a bit of extra glow and dewiness I swept a bit of the middle shade from the BYS Highlighting Trio on the top of my cheekbones and tip of my nose.

 

The part that really makes this look “Emma Watson’s Belle” inspired is the eye makeup. As a base I used an Essence eyeshadow crayon in a champagne/rose gold shade but
Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetunfortunately the label has worn off and I can’t remember the name. Next using a fluffy blending brush I blended in some “Bad to the Bronze” Maybelline Colour Tattoo cream eyeshadow into my crease to give my hooded eyes some shape and definition. Eye contouring, if you will. Then for the colour, I swept a delicate amount of a bright yellow Body Shop eyeshadow in the shade”Sunshine” over my lid and blended it out just enough that I didn’t lose the boldness of the colour but to look a little more natural or at least as natural as yellow eyeshadow can look. I lined my eyes with the Maybelline Master Precise Liquid Eyeliner but kept the liner thin and natural as I just wanted to add a bit of definition to my eyes not make a statement. To finish the eyes I applied my favourite mascara, Maybelline Lash Sensational on my upper lashes until they looked lengthened and fluttery then a light coat on my lower lashes too to give a more natural doe-eyed look.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Emma Watson kept her trademark strong, dark brows as Belle so I used the E.L.F. Brow Kit in medium to give my brows a stronger shape but didn’t make the ends too square in order to keep them natural looking. To set them in place, I applied a coat of Maybelline Brow Drama in medium brown then highlighted below and above my brow using Benefit’s High Brow highlighting pencil and blending it out. To finish off the look I applied the NYX cream matte in the shade “Cannes”. To me this gave the look a lovely rosy pink touch reminiscent of the enchanted rose from Beauty and the Beast and contrasts nicely with the yellow.

I hope you enjoyed my first makeup tutorial. This was very different to my usual blog posts and I must admit it’s extremely nerve-wracking for me to upload photos of my face on this blog as I’m not much of a selfie taker and I just feel a bit silly posing for these photos. I was really happy with how this look turned out and my face doesn’t really do it any justice but I hope it gives you some inspiration for a bright, colourful spring look regardless.

N. xx

Leave a Reply

