Hello Lovelies,

Long time no post but can you believe that we are already a quarter of the way through 2017?!  This fact has only just occurred to me now that my life finally getting some order and routine to it again and I realised that I have left it far, far too long since my last blog post. I didn’t want to crawl back here make excuses. Instead, I thought I would catch you up on what I have been up to in the last couple of months and also announce what I hope will be my upload routine for the rest of this year!

Where Have I Been?

So I mentioned this a few times in my previous blog posts but since that was a little while ago now I’ll mention it again here, I moved to Germany! I made a decision in October 2016 to become an Au Pair and move to Germany for a year as a learning/growing experience. On the 3rd of February I said “see you later” to my Australian family and friends and embarked on the 22 hour trip to Germany. February was a crazy month full of settling into my new home and new routine and learning the ins and outs of my new job so uploading blog posts was the last thing on my mind. February went quite quickly as I was busy every day with working or running countless errands that come with moving overseas. March was when the homesickness hit me, HARD! I had a few days where I spent my free time in bed watching Netflix and wishing I was back home with my family and friends.  So much of March has been and continues to be about me learning how to cope with the homesickness by finding things to do to keep myself busy.

What Am I Doing?

Like I said earlier, I am living and working in Germany on a 12 month Au Pair contract. I live in a small but beautiful town in Bavaria and look after 2 little girls. The girls go to kindergarten on weekdays so I have about 5 hours of free time everyday while they are at school as well as having weekends and evenings free. Although this amount of free time sounds ideal it has made me feel a little bit lonely and bored as I don’t really know many people here. I’m taking a German language class while here so I have had a bit of study to keep me busy but other than that the lack of a “need” to do anything during my days has resulted in me wasting a lot of time scrolling through social media for far too long and an influx in midday naps. I did buy myself a watercolour set and sketchpad and have been using that for a bit of art therapy on my down days which has been a really lovely and relaxing indoor activity to do on the seemingly endless rainy days we’ve been having here. I also decided to start keeping a daily journal as a way of getting out of my head and putting the vast array of emotions I have been feeling lately onto paper as another therapeutic exercise but as something that would also be a great memento of this already crazy adventure to read back through in years to come. Unfortunately these activities can only keep me sane for so long and already I am finding myself slipping back into a routine of laying in bed all day, having no motivation whatsoever to get anything done as I feel as though there is nothing that needs to be done.

Where Do We Go From Here?

Last week I realised that what I really needed to get myself feeling back to normal and give myself a distraction is to get back into blogging. Having a blog schedule to work towards will be good for me and hopefully give me some much needed motivation. I can use this as an outlet to speak about my travelling experiences, how I’m dealing with homesickness and anything else I might get up to during this year abroad as well as continuing to discuss beauty and fashion which I love and miss having likeminded people to share this passion with. I have decided to aim towards uploading twice a week. Mondays and Thursdays will be my new upload days and have already planned months of content ranging from travel tips and experiences to make-up and fashion lookbooks.  I will also start uploading monthly favourites posts at the end of each month as these are some of my favourite blog posts to read but I haven’t really ever done them myself. If there is anything else you would like to see from me then please let me know in the comments. Thanks for sticking by me through all the changes!

N. xx

One thought on “Life Update & New Upload Schedule

Leave a Reply

