In 2016 I, along with most other makeup lovers, discovered a love of matte liquid lipsticks. In my eyes, nothing can beat the longevity, finish and overall look and feel of a good matte liquid lipstick. I’ve long been waiting to try NYX lipsticks for myself, in particular their matte liquid lipsticks, as I have heard nothing but great things and when I saw that they had released a lip vault full of their Soft Matte Lip Creams I just couldn’t help but purchase it. The thought of 36 matte liquid lipsticks in a large range of colours was far too good to resist and so when I stumbled upon this vault in target on New Year’s Eve I took the plunge and have absolutely no regrets. This vault retails in Australia for $79 which is not exactly cheap so I thought I would review and swatch it to allow you to see what you get for the price.

From my first impression, the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams are smooth and buttery, quite easy to apply, pigmented and smell really lovely. The scent, in my opinion, seems to be vanilla which isn’t overpowering while wearing them and definitely beats the typical chemical smell of a lot of liquid lipsticks. Not to mention the fact that they are all named after popular cities from all around the world which definitely appealed to my inner travel bug.

There is also such a vast selection of shades in this vault that it allows even the most safe of lipstick wearers (like me) to branch out of your comfort zone and try a few more daring colours. As you probably already know, I am moving to Germany next month and I hope to travel to several other cities and countries in Europe while there. As these lipsticks are each named after famous cities from around the world I thought it would be fun to make them into a bit of a bucket list and each time I visit one of the cities I will make sure to wear the corresponding lipstick and take a lil’ insta photo so we’ll see how that goes.

The pigment and consistency can be a little bit hit and miss with each colour in the lip creams. Regardless, they are generally smooth and apply evenly and in one coat. I found that the darker the shade is, the more likely it will be to be slightly patchy and take several coats to look even but I believe that is the case with most liquid lipsticks.Despite their consistency, there is no doubt that these lipsticks dry and become matte perfectly. The texture of them once they have dried to matte is still so smooth and not at all flaky. Most importantly to me they last all day without any need for reapplying which I personally love as I am quite lazy with touching up my makeup throughout the day and much prefer to have my makeup stay put.

All in all, there are so many colours to choose from in the vault that I found I could overlook the slight flaws in some of the darker shades. Scroll down to see swatches of every colour in the fault. I hope you enjoyed this mini review.

N. xx

The Swatches

Nudes…

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Left to Right; Cairo, Athens, London, Zurich, Stockholm, Abu Dhabi, Cannes, Buenos Aires, Tokyo, Sydney, Istanbul, Milan

Pinks & Browns…

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Left to Right; Antwerp, Sao Paulo, Ibiza, Manila, Paris, Prague, Addis Ababa, Budapest, Los Angeles, Rome, Berlin, Dubai

Reds & Dark Colours…

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Left to Right; Vancouver, Copenhagen, Madrid, Monte Carlo, Amsterdam, Morocco, San Juan, Seoul, Bangkok, Havana, Moscow, Transylvania
6 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

