It’s now less than 20 days until I move overseas for 12 months and the stress of packing my life into a suitcase is definitely getting to me now. However, I am a shopaholic with terrible self-control and last week, despite my already overflowing suitcases (yes, that’s right, multiple suitcases), I went a little crazy with the spending when I went away to the city for the weekend. To be fair, I live in a tiny town in Central Queensland where our best shop is Kmart so I will never pass up an opportunity to go shopping when I’m in the city and I think these purchases are all justified because they’re mostly travel related/needed for when I arrive in Germany. Anyhow I wanted to show you all what I bought because there are some great deals on at the moment in the January sales and I wouldn’t want you to miss out.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetSo I know I said earlier that we have a Kmart in my home town but I just couldn’t resist checking out the bigger stores for any goodies that we may not get in our little store and I found just what I was looking for. I had been struggling to source a reasonable sized cosmetics bag for a while and was almost ready to give up because finding a makeup bag bigger than a takeaway container seemed to be asking too much. But Kmart delivered the goods once again, just in the form of a handbag. I saw this grey handbag and instantly knew that this was exactly what I had been looking for in a cosmetics bag. It’s sturdy, square (which means you can fill it right to the top and still zip it up), quite chic compared to some of the bland cosmetics bags out there (I mean look at that tassel) and most importantly, it’s big! I have already begun to fill it with quite a few of my makeup products and it is only half full. So I definitely advise you think outside the box when seeking travel accessories because who needs a $70 wash bag from Ted Baker when you can get an equally chic bag from Kmart for $20 that does the job perfectly. I also picked up this little tassel key ring for no specific reason other than I loved the colours and these two hair clips which I wanted to give to my mother to replace the one my thick, unruly hair broke but she was one step ahead of me and had bought herself a new clip already so I kept them and they work surprisingly well on thick hair. They are also really comfortable to a point where I actually fell asleep in one last night!

Moving on to a few makeup products I purchased, the first being a Sleek palette. For so
long I have been hearing people rave about Sleek makeup, particularly their eyeshadow palettes, but my local target doesn’t stock Sleek products and I wasn’t game to purchase it online without swatching it first so when I found them in target I spent a good while swatching every palette they had Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetand trying to decide between the gorgeous colours. I ended up purchasing the Sleek i-devine palette called “Oh So Special”. It is full of a mixture of neutrals as well as some darker and more bold colours like a shimmery blue. The quality is really great for its reasonable price and the palette is the perfect size for travelling (ooh, how convenient). The next makeup bits I purchased were from the body shop which once again is not a brand I have purchased makeup from before. I bought these two little eyeshadow pods in a yellow shade called “Sunshine Love” and a shimmery bronze shade called “Bronze Bliss”. I bought the bronze one simply because it felt really smooth and I wear those shades all the time so I knew I would get a lot of use out of it. I’m not too sure what drew me towards buying the yellow shade. It was on sale which I think is what persuaded me to take a risk and buy a more out there colour for me but I am happy to report that I absolutely love this colour and think that yellow is now my favourite shade to wear on my dark brown eyes. The next product is the Sportsgirl Lip Metal in the shade “Dark Side”. I’m going to be honest, I would not recommend this product. I love the colour but it is a typical red shimmery shade that I’m sure would be available in a much better quality product. The quality isn’t terrible but I found the colour is super patchy and wears off quite quickly so if you’re lazy like me when it comes to your makeup and you want your lipstick to just last the day without fuss then don’t bother with this.

On a more positive note, Sportsgirl did not disappoint in the clothing department. I was wandering round the store when a bright, slightly garish beanie caught my eye and at first I picked it up and jokingly showed it to my mother but when I tried it on and caught a glimpse of it in the mirror I actually fell a little bit in love with it, hot pink pom-pom and Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetall. I can’t wait to style it with the many neutral jumpers I own and a bright lip and just have it bring a little colour to my wardrobe this year! Next I picked up this little set of 4 pins. I have wanted to go down the route of bedazzling my hats/jackets/bags with pins and patches for a little while now  but I hadn’t found any that were worth paying $10 for…until I found these. I like to refer to these as my peachy keen pins as the set includes a little pink peach, a bunch of daisies, a glittery gold star and finally (and most obviously) a pin that actually says “Peachy Keen”. I have pinned a couple of these pins on this pink cap from Kmart and I don’t know that I can really pull off this whole athleisure fashion trend but I feel pretty cool wearing my cap with a pair of converse, even if I actually just look 5 years old again.

Another clothing item I bought from Sportsgirl was this red and navy checkered jumper Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetwhich despite how it might look in the photo, actually looks quite lovely on. The pattern and colour is just really classic and the style and length of it is really flattering and will look good with jeans, skirts and over the top of dresses so it will be perfect for layering in Europe. Following along the layering trend, I also bought a gorgeous yellow t-shirt from Temt. I started out 2017 truly believing that yellow was not my colour and a week into 2017 I had bought three yellow clothing/makeup items so I guess I have lived 18 years missing out on yellow in my life.

Kikki K was having a mega-sale but I refrained from buying all of their gorgeous planners and instead decided to buy myself this beautiful colouring book to take on the plane. I find colouring extremely relaxing and soothing for when I’m feeling anxious so it will definitely come in handy for when I am travelling and most likely feeling anxious. Another thing Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetthat really calms me down is listening to music, particularly acoustic or alternative music as it is slower (but not as slow as ballads) and there’s just something about listening to an acoustic song where the voices are so clear that is very calming. Which is why I bought the Triple J Like a Version – Volume 12 which is a compilation of covers of popular songs performed by Australian artists and it is alternative music heaven for the ears. I completely recommend these albums if that seems like something you would be into. Another product I bought from The Body Shop is a body lotion in my favourite scent of theirs – Fuji Green Tea. It is such a refreshing scent and the lotion feels really wonderful. I had purchased this product before in a tub and found that after having it for a year it had lost its scent so when I saw it was in a pump bottle I hoped it would help the scent last longer and is just more convenient in general. FYI – It was also $5 cheaper than the tub for the same amount of product.

At Myer I finally managed to find a plastic case for my laptop. I bought my laptop 6Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset months ago but have been too worried about it getting scratched (as apple products tend to do) if I was to take it out with me and since I am taking it with me overseas and will have to take it out of its padded travel case through airport security, I decided that I really needed to find one before I go. This case is from a brand called Uniq and the Husk Pro to fit a 13″ MacBook Pro. I love the colour and the best bit is that it was reduced in the sale from $40 to $20. It fits perfectly and doesn’t make the already heavy laptop any heavier so I would definitely recommend this brand if you are in the market for a hard laptop case.

My final two purchases are, in my opinion, the most exciting so I have saved the best for last. I watched a makeup tutorial by Tanya Burr a couple of weeks ago where she was promoting Clinique’s new Beyond Perfect Foundation + Concealer and I thought it might fullsizerender-4be exactly what I have been looking for in a high-end foundation. I decided to go to the Clinique stand in Myer just to test it out and find my colour but I was so impressed by the quality and feel of the swatch the lady did on my cheek that I decided to bite the bullet and bought my first ever high end foundation. I will have to get back to you with a review though as I haven’t started using this yet. I also feel as though I should mention that the Clinique consultant was very impressed at just how pale I was and that I needed their lightest shade. I guess I should get used to it though as I suppose I am only going to get more pale in Germany. The final product is a new pair of pyjamas. I have wanted to buy some Peter Alexander pyjamas for quite some time and when I saw this set on sale I knew that I needed to buy them. They are a summer set so not the most practical for the German winter but they are travel themed so it felt like they were made for me. The print has pretzels, aeroplanes and red London buses so it screams European holiday and I have plenty of Wintery pyjama bottoms in the pastel colours to match the top so hopefully by Spring/Summer I will be wearing these again.

I hope you enjoyed this haul and I will see you next Sunday with another blog post. Thank you for reading!

N.xx

Leave a Reply

