Hello Lovelies,

We are well underway with the new year now and I couldn’t not post a list of my new years resolution on here to mark the beginning of a fresh start. Although I must say January 2017 doesn’t feel like much of clean slate to me this time around. I can’t describe it but I haven’t felt the usual feeling of one year coming to a close and a new one paving the way for new routines and new perspectives but hopefully once I start putting these resolutions into practice it will start to feel as if 2016 is finally over with.


1. Switch up my hairstyle…

I have been looking at chopping and changing my hair for most of 2016 and I think 2017 is going to be the year where I get a lil’ adventurous with my style and that goes for my hair too. My hair is currently very long (we’re talking ‘almost sitting on it’ long) and has never been coloured so in my opinion the natural ashy brown colour is looking a bit dull and lifeless right now and I’m ready for a change. I have big things planned for later in the year and don’t be surprised if I all of a sudden chop it short and dye it blonde next summer because that’s where I’m heading with it but for now I’m anticipating going to the hairdresser this month and getting a fringe again so we’ll see how that goes.


2. Use my spare time more wisely…

2016 was not great for me in terms of getting stuff done. I did a lot and looking back at the year I am quite proud of how far I have come but  I also know that I wasted way too much of my spare time on my phone. Whether I flicked between different social media apps for hours or wasted the morning playing best fiends or candy crush, I without a doubt could have been spending my time more wisely. I’m not sure how much spare time I will have with my new job this year but I will try my best to spend my spare time in 2017 planning and writing blog posts, cleaning and sorting out my life or even exercising instead of wasting my life away on my phone.


3. Read more books & drink more tea…

Two of my favourite activities in this world are reading books and drinking a cup of tea, ideally both at the same time. Last year I didn’t do these things as much as I would have liked to (possibly because I was on my phone instead) so this is definitely something that is going to change in 2017. I have heard a few people mentioning the 50 books challenge recently. I’m not sure that this challenge is achievable for me since I’m moving overseas and can’t really take more than a couple of books with me but I would like to try and read as many books as I can regardless.


4. Live in the moment and stop dwelling on the past or worrying about the future…

2016 was a crazy year with lots of uncertainty for me and it was probably the worst year for me when it came to my anxiety. Towards the end of the year my life got crazy busy and I had lots of tough decisions to make which made me really start fretting over my future. It wasn’t until I made the conscious decision to stop worrying about the future and having that fear of the unknown determining the choices I make and instead living in the moment. It won’t be easy as my anxiety constantly makes me question the ‘what ifs?’ but I’m going to try and not let it hold me back this year.


5. Take more Photographs…

Following on from the last resolution, I must say that I sometimes have a terrible habit of living a little bit too much in the moment and completely forgetting to take photos of events and days I would love to remember so this year I will strive to take as many photos as I can. At the start of the month I downloaded an app where you record a short video everyday of the year and watch it back when the year is over so I’m currently trying to get into the habit of updating that each day. No matter where I am or what I’m doing I will film a quick video. Some days it will be a video of my makeup or outfit that day, a pretty sunset and sometimes quickly capturing special moments as they’re happening. This is one resolution I will definitely endeavour to succeed with and who knows maybe I will even try my hand at vlogging.


6. Go on more solo adventures…

In 2016 my independence grew ten fold but this year I am yet to face my biggest challenge, moving overseas on my own. How much more independent can I get really? I would love to use this new found freedom to hopefully travel to 3 new countries this year. I’m not sure where yet but since I will be living in Germany I will have a wealth of new countries all around me that I can explore and discover on my own but who knows who I might meet along the way.


7. Start Journaling…

I have never really been one to write down my thoughts which often leads to my brain getting overloaded with information and thoughts which becomes stressful at times. This year I would like to learn to write my thoughts down more often. Whether I write them in a private journal or post them here I really want to strive to get out of my own head a little bit more. In turn I hope this makes 2017 a little bit less overwhelming and helps me to open up more.


8. Unapologetically do what makes me happy…

Last of all I hope that 2017 is a year where I do what makes me happy without fear of criticism or failure. I hope that 2017 is the same for you too and that you achieve all of your resolutions and more. See you back here next Sunday!

N. xx

Leave a Reply

