Hello Lovelies,

So recently I have been having a bit of a treat-yo-self moment and with the change in season decided an update to my wardrobe was due. Pair that with the fact that one of my favourite stores, Crossroads, is full of new spring/summer stock that is completely my style and now I’ve ended up with a spring clothing haul to share with you.

First I should mention that most of the clothes I bought are dresses, floral, off-the-shoulder and from a store called Crossroads which, despite being a store aimed at older women, is actually somewhere I have bought bits from since I was thirteen. I love the clothes from there because they always seem to have lots of goodies that suits my style and more importantly their clothes always fit really well and last for years despite not being too expensive. I did also buy a something from elsewhere though which I’ll get to at the end but the majority is from Crossroads.

img_3147

The first item I bought is a playsuit. It’s a long sleeved playsuit in a black, botanical fabric with deep shades of purple, burgundy and mauve. I believe that this may have been part of the Autumn/Winter range as I bought it the week before they brought in all of the new stock. Also judging by the Autumnal colours in it, It is definitely not your typical spring playsuit but I still think it will be versatile enough to wear in any season. I’m also absolutely in love with the length of this  playsuit! If you are a taller girl or, like me, have long thighs you’ll know that playsuits are almost always way too short and overly revealing but this playsuit comes almost to mid-thigh making it super flattering.

 

img_3155Moving on to much more spring appropriate pieces, I picked up this dress yesterday after spotting it while walking past Crossroads and not being able to resist it. I already know that it will be my favourite dress during summer because it is so beautiful that it doesn’t need accessories to make an outfit. As well as being effortlessly casual it is also the kind of dress that you can easily dress up and wear out of an evening with some heels and a statement necklace. I wore this last weekend to a family friend’s 40th with some heeled sandals and a denim jacked and I loved how it was the perfect mix between dressy and casual and so very comfortable.

 

img_3154img_3153

I also bought a slightly more formal dress that could be worn to a fancier event but still isn’t too dressy. It’s a little black, lace dress with a halter neck and lace trim at the bottom. I have been looking for a dress like this for a couple of years and stumbled upon it on the sale rack at crossroads. Lucky for me it was the last one that just so happened to be in my size and I couldn’t pass that up.  I love the length of this dress as it is perfect for an evening event and the lace just gives it that extra something that a regular LBD wouldn’t.

 

img_3149

I also bought a top from Crossroads and you guessed it, it is an off-the-shoulder style top in a botanical fabric. It’s also the third black piece of clothing I bought in this haul which is odd for me because I don’t wear black clothing often. I love this top it’s comfortable, effortless and I’ve paired it with black jeans, shorts and pencil skirt and it works with all of them. I also love the flowy sleeves and peplum style hem as they are super flattering add extra flair to an otherwise plain off-the-shoulder top.

 

IMG_3156.JPGThe final piece I bought was actually from Jay Jays not Crossroads and it’s definitely my favourite piece from this haul. I saw this dress about a month before I bought it when I was in a rush getting somewhere and didn’t have time to stop and try it on but it was the kind of piece that I couldn’t stop thinking about and when I returned to Jay Jays a month later I was so happy to see that it was still in stock. I tried it on and knew straight away that it would be the dress I’m wearing to my birthday party next weekend. I’m currently obsessed with this midi length style as I think it’s so flattering on people of all heights accentuates your legs in a really subtle way. Again, surprise surprise, it is off-the-shoulder and although I never thought cream was really my colour I was pleasantly surprised to find that it’s actually quite flattering on my skin tone and of course I love the pattern of the peachy pink roses which is what drew me to this dress the most.

 

I hope you enjoyed this blog post and maybe it has inspired you to add a few pieces to your spring wardrobe. Although I mentioned that most of these pieces were from Crossroads, this post was not affiliated with any brand and all pieces were purchased with my own hard-earned pennies. Also while writing this blog post I finally got around to testing one of those face masks from my UO Haul last month and it was wonderful!

N. xx

Leave a Reply

