I have had a new-found love of making my own fruit juices since last summer and rightly so because they are delicious and super healthy. It’s also ridiculously easy to do especially if you prepare it in advance like I do. By packing little containers full of fresh fruit and vegetables at the start of the week and keeping them in the freezer it saves me so much time in the mornings before work and also let me get a generous percentage of my daily fruit and vegetable intake before noon.
As for what I usually include in my juices it changes every week depending on what is in season or what I might have in my fridge that needs using. However generally I tend to do a ration of 80% fruit and 20% vege because I usually eat plenty of vegetables throughout the day anyway but this way I can make sure that I’m getting enough fruit every day as well.
Don’t be afraid to use fruit that seems to be past its prime or more ripe than you would usually prefer because by freezing it it won’t lose its freshness so it is the perfect way to reduce the amount of fruits and vegetables that we waste.
My favourite ingredients to incorporate at the moment are:

(makes 2 – 250ml juices or one large 500ml cup)

  • 1/2 cup of mixed berries
  • 1 handful of baby spinach
  • 1 pear
  • half an orange
  • half a large carrot finely grated
  • 6 seedless green grapes
  • 2 kiwi fruits peeled and diced

The next morning I also add 1/2 a cup of water to my blender cup and a dash of fruit juice such as apple juice or pear juice to add a little more sweetness.
I usually make 5 or more sachets of this mixture as well as adding any other fruits I might need to use and package them in either individual zip lock bags or small containers then keep them in the freezer until I use them during the week. in the morning I get a packet out of the freezer and break up the contents which is really easy to do as the fruit freezes but because it isn’t watery it won’t freeze as a solid block and therefore is incredibly easy and quick to blend while still frozen.
I hope this helps any of you that are thinking of making your own fresh juices to add more vitamins to your diet and gives you some inspiration to use your fruit and vegetables in a nutritious and delicious way!

– N xx

Leave a Reply

